Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Music: Canadian Music

Reference Resources

Encyclopedia of Music in Canada.

Freely accessible online updates to Encyclopedia of music in Canada, 2nd ed. - Kallman and Potvin, eds. Ref. ML106 .C3 E52 1992t / Encyclopédie de la musique au Canada, 2nd ed. Ref. ML106 .C3 E5214 1993 3 v.

The English and French print versions are now subsumed by The Canadian Encyclopedia (see print below) and updated online by Historica Canada. These combined sources are still the most authoritative first point of reference for researching the music of Canada.

Canadian encyclopedia, 4 vols. Edmonton, Alta. : Hurtig, 1988
Ref. FC23 .C36 1988

The Canadian journal of music, 1914-1919 / Kathleen McMorrow.
Ref. ML5 .C15 2005

Keyword-author index. (RIPM - retrospective index series)

Canadian music and music education : an annotated bibliography of theses and dissertations / Diane Peters.
Ref. ML120 .C2 P47 1997

Canadian musical works 1900-1980 : a bibliography of general and analytical sources. Ottawa : Canadian Association of Music Libraries, 1983.
Ref. ML120 .C2 R425 1983t

Contemporary Canadian composers / Keith MacMillan and John Beckwith
Ref. ML106 .C3 C66 (1975)

Published in French as Compositeurs canadiens contemporains / ed. Louise Laplante Ref. ML106 .C3 C664

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online

Web access to The Garland encyclopedia of world music. Vol. 3 devoted to the United States and Canada.
Print edition in library: Ref. ML100 .G16 1997- 10 vols., accompanied by 9 CDs at Circulation Desk (SRCD97-121 v. 1-9)

Grove Music Online

Updated web access through Oxford Music Online to The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians.
Ref. ML100 .N48 2001 29 vols.
Search specific topics, composers or the chapter on Canada in general.

Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

Archived web access to Catalogue of Archival fonds and collections of the Music Division. Ottawa : National Library of Canada, Music Division, 1994.
Ref. ML136 .O8 N375 1994t

Music in Canada: a research and information guide / Carl Morey (1997)
Ref. ML120 .C2 M67 1997

Music in Canada : capturing landscape and diversity / Elaine Keillor
ML205 .K385 2006, compact disc CD06-085

Twentieth century Canadian composers / Ian Bradley
Ref. ML390 .B825 (1977-1982) 2 v.

Journals, Databases and Streaming Resources

Bulletin of the International Council for Traditional Music
Canadian journal for traditional music (formerly: Canadian folk music journal)
Ethnomusicology
MUSICultures (formerly: Canadian journal for traditional music)
Nota bene: Canadian undergraduate journal of musicology
The World of music
Yearbook for traditional music
Check QCAT under Journal Title Exact to see if a journal title is in print or electronic format

Music Databases

RILM
Music Index Online
International Index to Music Periodicals
Relevant music databases which include information on early music. Requires Web proxy from off-campus.

Streaming Databases

Naxos Music Library
Online listening access to more than 24,000 music recordings. NOTE: Check system requirements and settings..
NFB.ca: National Film Board Videos Online
Over 1000 NFB films are free to all Canadians, but Queen’s Library community also has an additional account giving access to 3,000 films for classrooms.
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
Queen's community restricted access (requires web proxy) to published recordings owned by the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label, as well as to the archival audio collections of legendary record labels in the United States. Also includes music recorded in other countries.

Internet Resources

Canadian Museum of History

The CMH's online exhibitions currently include: Marius Barbeau: a glimpse of Canadian culture, 1883-1969, and another exhibition entitled: Crossroads of Culture: 200 years of Canadian immigration, which features in part the music instruments brought to Canada by immigrants.

Canadian Music Centre

Collects, distributes and promotes music by Canadian composers. Search for biographical, score and sound recording information.

Canadian Music Periodical Index

30 000 article entries from 500 Canadian music journals, 200 of which are still actively indexed, dating from the late-19th century to the present. Browse by name, subject or periodical title, or an advanced search using any combination. Provided by Library & Archives Canada.

The Canadian Pop Music Encyclopedia

CANOE - JAM! Music's Canadian POP Music Encyclopedia chronicles nearly 1,300 Canadian contemporary pop music artists from the 1950s to the present; written by Toronto-based music writer Jaimie Vernon.

Clifford Ford Publications

Mandated to carry out the activities of the Canadian Musical Heritage Society, a leading research institution (1982-2003) which published a multi-volume anthology of historical Canadian music.

Institute for Canadian Music (U. of T.)

Includes a useful list of Canadian Music Links.

Library and Archives Canada - Music and Performing Arts

Includes links to LAC's Digital Collections such as Sheet Music from Canada's Past, Music Archives at the National Library of Canada, listing fonds of various Canadian composers, Virtual Exhibitions, Virtual Gramophone (Canadian historical sound recordings), Theatre, Dance and Music: Celebrating Women's Achievements , with biographical summaries of Emma Albani, Helen Creighton, La Bolduc (Mary Travers), Kathleen Parlow, Barbara Pentland and Ethel Stark and sample audio clips of their work, as well as Historica Foundation's Encyclopedia of Music in Canada.

Canadian University Music Libraries

Dalhousie University - Killam Memorial Library
McGill University - Marvin Duchow Music Library
Memorial University - Music Resource Centre
Mount Allison University - Alfred Whitehead Music Library
Queen's University - W.D. Jordan Music Library
Université de Montréal - Bibliothèque de musique
Université du Québec à Montréal
Université Laval
University of British Columbia Music, Art and Architecture Library
University of Calgary - Visual and Performing Arts Library
University of Manitoba - Eckhardt-Gramatté Music Library
University of Saskatchewan Library - Education & Music
University of Toronto Music Library
Western University Music Library (London, Ontario)
Wilfrid Laurier University
York University - Sound & Moving Image Library

Last Updated: 22 September 2014