Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Music: Databases

Major Article Databases

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Publication coverage: 1874 - present
Indexing, abstracts and selected full text coverage of the most important music journals covering a broad scope of research from performance, theory and composition to music education, jazz and ethnomusicology.
Publication coverage: 1976 - present (with some backfile indexing from 1962-1975)
Indexes articles from over 700 international music periodicals, as well as book reviews and reviews of music recordings, tapes, and performances. Obituaries and first performances are noted. Access to historiographic, ethnographic and musicological data. Topics include past and present personalities, the history of music, forms and types of music, musical instruments from the earliest times to modern electronic instruments, plus computer produced music.
Publication coverage: 1967 - present (updated monthly)
Access restricted to the Queen's community (4 user limit)
Comprehensive, international index to music literature, from Western and Eastern classical to pop, folk, and jazz.

Other Music Databases

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Citations to nearly 30,000 articles on music in Canada, dating from the late-19th century to the present day. Also indexes significant articles on international music and musicians, published in Canadian periodicals since 1999. Covered are 500 Canadian music journals, newsletters and magazines, almost 200 of which are currently active and continue to be indexed.
Publication coverage: 15th - 21st centuries
Find classical music scores, manuscripts, and previously unpublished material.
Part of the Canadian Encyclopedia
Publication coverage: 1900 to present
Access restricted to the Queen's community (3 user limit)
Covers popular music of all genres and periods, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music as well as popular music trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals.
Access restricted to the Queen's community (3 user limit)
Full text online version of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz , with annual updates (updated articles are date-stamped in the upper right corner of the screen).
Access restricted to the Queen's community (100 user limit)
Online listening access to more than 24,000 music recordings. NOTE: Check system requirements and settings.
Access restricted to the Queen's community (3 user limit)
Full-text, online version of Grove Music Online (which includes The New Grove Dictionary of Opera), Encyclopedia of Popular Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music, with ongoing additions of new material and updates to the texts.
Access restricted to the Queen's community (5 user limit)
Audio files for published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and more.
The SONG INDEX helps locate songs from published collections housed in the Queen's Music Library stacks. The index provides access to specific songs by composer, song title or first line, as well as other means of searching.

All Databases Related to Music >>

Last Updated: 02 September 2014