Music: Ethnomusicology
Reference Resources
American folklore : an encyclopedia / ed. by Jan Harold Brunvand
Ref. GR101 .A54 1996
- North American folklore (American and Canadian), excluding the folklore of Native Americans.
American Musical Traditions / ed. by Jeff Todd Titon, Bob Carlin
Ref. ML3551 .A53 2002 5 vols.
- Published in collaboration with the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, covers Native American, African American, British Isles, European American, Latin American and Asian American musical traditions and influences.
Encyclopedia of Music in Canada 
Online
-
Updated web access to Encyclopedia of Music in Canada, 2nd ed. - Kallman and Potvin, eds. Ref. ML106 .C3 E52 1992t / Encyclopédie de la musique au Canada, 2nd ed. Ref. ML106 .C3 E5214 1993 3 v.
See specific topics or the chapter on Ethnomusicology in general.
Ethnomusicology [electronic resource] : a guide to research / Jennifer C. Post
- Web access to Ethnomusicology : a guide to research. Ref. ML128.E8 P67 2004. Introduces print and web-based sources and research resources published primarily in the last decade of the 20th century. Sources organized by topic and geographic region.
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online 
Ref. ML100 .G16 1997- 10 vols.
- Web access to The Garland encyclopedia of world music, the first encyclopedia devoted to the music of all the world's peoples, with each volume devoted to a single region. Print edition: Ref. ML100 .G16 1997- 10 vols., accompanied by 9 CDs at Circulation Desk (SRCD97-121 v. 1-9)
-
Web access to The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. Ref. ML100 .N48 2001 29 vols.
See specific topics or the chapter on Ethnomusicology in general.
The Harvard dictionary of music, 4th ed. / edited by Don Michael Randel. 
Ref. ML100 .A64 2003
- Coverage has greatly expanded to include non-Western and popular music and musical instruments of all cultures.
Selected musical terms of non-Western cultures : a notebook-glossary / Walter Kaufmann 
Ref. ML108 .K37 1990
World music : the rough guide
Ref. ML102 .W67 W67 1999 2 v.
- A-Z on the music, musicians and discs of Africa, Europe, Middle East (v. 1), and Latin and North America, Caribbean, India, Asia and Pacific (v. 2)
Bibliographies : selected examples (ML120-128)
African music : a Pan-African annotated bibliography / C. Lems-Dworkin
Ref. ML120 .A35 L4 1991t
Chinese music : an annotated bibliography, 2nd ed. / F. Lieberman
Ref. ML120 .C2 L5 1979
Folk music in America : a reference guide / Terry E. Miller
Ref. ML128 .F74 M5 1986t
The folk music sourcebook / L. Sandberg & D. Weissman
Ref. ML128 .F74 S26 1976t
Indian music and dance / G.C. Kendadamath
Ref. ML120 .I5 K46 1986
North American Indian music : a guide to published sources and selected readings / R. Keeling
Ref. ML128 .F75 K44 1997
Discographies : selected examples (ML156)
Musiciens traditionnels du Quebec, 1920-1993 / G. Labbe 
Ref. ML156.4 F5 L32 1995t
- Biographies and discographies of traditional Quebec musicians.
Native American music directory, 3rd ed. / G. Gombert
ML156.4 F5 G66 2004
Northern journey : a guide to Canadian folk music 
ML156.4 F5 W54 1995t
- Details history of folk music performed and recorded in Canada, on CD
Journals and Databases - Samples
Asian music
Black music research journal
Bulletin of the International Council for Traditional Music
Canadian journal for traditional music (formerly: Canadian folk music journal)
Ethnomusicology
Latin American music review
MUSICultures (formerly: Canadian journal for traditional music)
World music
Yearbook for traditional music
RILM, Music Index Online, or International Index to Music Periodicals
- Relevant databases which include information on ethnomusicology. Requires Web proxy from off-campus.
Multimedia -Samples
The Garland handbook of Latin American music, 2nd ed.
ML199 .G36 2008; book in Stacks contains 2 CDs
The JVC Smithsonian Folkways video anthology of music and dance of Africa
Ask at Circulation Desk for DVD10-002 v. 1-3 or video no. 293 v. 1-3
The JVC/ Smithsonian Folkways video anthology of music and dance of Europe
Ask at Circulation Desk for videos nos. 307-308
The JVC/Smithsonian Folkways video anthology of music and dance of the Americas
Ask at Circulation Desk for DVD09-002, v. 1-6 (contents listed on QCAT under call number: ML3549 .J83 2005)
The JVC video anthology of world music and dance
Ask at Circulation Desk for DVD08-012 v. 1-30 (contents listed on QCAT under call number: ML3545 .J82 2005)
Music in Latin America and the Caribbean
ML199 .M858 2004; 2 vol. set in Stacks with CDs in each volume
Internet Resources
American Musicological Society 
- Mega-site with web sites of interest to musicologists, including folk music and ethnomusicology.
- Collections from Asia and the Middle East at Harvard's Loeb Music Library.
Archives of African American Music and Culture
- AAAMC is a repository of materials covering various musical idioms and cultural expressions from the post-World War II era at Indiana University.
- Indiana University Music Library's ethnographic sound archives, including commercial and field recordings of vocal and instrumental music, folktales, interviews, and oral history, as well as videotapes, photographs, and manuscripts.
- A collection of Australian traditional and bush songs, with words, music and information about each song.
Canadian Centre for Ethnomusicology (University of Alberta) 
- Archive and research resource housing a collection of more than 4000 titles in audio and video recordings from local and international communities, as well as a diverse instrument collection.
Canadian Museum of Civilization 
- The CMC's online exhibitions currently include: Marius Barbeau: a glimpse of Canadian culture, 1883-1969, and another exhibition entitled: Crossroads of Culture: 200 years of Canadian immigration, which features in part the music instruments brought to Canada by immigrants.
Encyclopedia of Music in Canada 
- Search specific topics or Ethnomusicology in general.
Ethnomusicology, Folk Music and World Music 
- Extensive links provided by University of Washington Music Library.
National Museum of American History
- Includes links to Music Collections and Music and Musical Instruments at the National Museum of American History.
- Gene Wilburn's extensive list of folk music resources on the internet.
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
- Queen's community restricted access (requires web proxy) to published recordings owned by the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label, as well as to the archival audio collections of legendary record labels in the United States. Also includes music recorded in Africa and South Asia.
- Links to sites for artists, exhibitions, musical instruments, performances and recordings, including Smithsonian Folkways Recordings and Music and Musical Instruments
The Society for Ethnomusicology
- Links to web sites and several online journals with ethnomusic content.
- A learning guide and study tool for students of Kay Kaufman Shelemay's textbook Soundscapes, 2nd ed.
Topical ethnomusicology sites
Musical Traditions Internet Magazine
Contains articles for traditional music throughout the world, including one on Inuit Throat-Singing.
- Spearheaded by Carleton University professor emerita, Elaine Keillor, the Native Drums web project is a diverse dialogue on culture, history and traditional knowledge with Aboriginal cultural partners, educational institutions, government and private industry. Centred around the central themes of drums and music in Aboriginal society, Native Drums traces the history, mythology, and significance of the drum in traditional Aboriginal societies of Canada's Eastern Woodlands, compared with Western Coastal regions in terms of history, arts and culture.
- Formerly entitled Richard Robinson’s Tunebook, this is a database of northern and western European traditional tunes (jigs and reels, polka, polska, schottische, bourrée, etc.) and their North American relatives. Contains PDF links to sheet music and midi files.
- Aboriginal and Native American artists and their music.
Woody Guthrie and the Archive of American Folk Song
- Highlights correspondence between Woody Guthrie and staff of the Archive of American Folk Song (now the Archive of Folk Culture, American Folklife Center) at the Library of Congress, between 1940-1950.
Last Updated: 14 October 2011