Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Newspapers: Directories & Bibliographies

Use these directories and bibliographies to find information about newspapers, such as: identifying newspapers by area and determining what papers or magazines have been published on special topics or for particular audiences. This list is not exhaustive: consider visiting the Z6940-Z6960 section at Stauffer Library- Reference to browse through newspaper, newsletter, magazine and other periodical directories and bibliographies.

Current

AAN: Association of Alternative Newsweeklies, Directory

Provides contact, circulation, publication, demographic and staffing information for member newspapers from the United States and Canada. Includes website links.

CARD
HF5808.C2.C25 from 1971-2010 (some gaps); latest 3 issues on REF

Alternate title: Canadian Advertising Rates and Data

Media UK

Provides links to many local, regional and major national daily newspapers from the United Kingdom. Includes contact information, editorial staff, and user reviews of the websites.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory

Gives ISSN, title, publisher, country, frequency, media/document type, language, subject, library classification, dates, contact, price and ordering information for current and ceased periodicals.

Historical

Benn's Media Directory
Z6956.E5 N6t (1986-1996 with some gaps) Compact Shelving

Provides title, contact information, frequency and content information.

Canadian News Services
Published by: Royal Commission on Newspapers, 1981
Stauffer MICROLOG: 82-02362

Checklist of Indexes to Canadian Newspapers
Published by: National Library of Canada, 1987
REF Z6954 .C2 B87 1987t
Documents MICROLOG: 87-03859

Directory of Indigenous Publications
Published by: Public Service Commission of Canada, 1985
Documents MICROLOG: 86-02552

Early American Newspapers 1704-1820
Stauffer Library - Documents (Microforms) Microcard

Early English Newspapers: A Bibliography and Guide to the Microfilm Collection
REF Z6956.G6 C68 1983

Details the microfilm collection of newspapers published in England called Early English Newspapers 1622-1820. Search titles in QCAT for holding information.

Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media
Z6951.A97 (1990-1998; compact shelving)

Half a Century of Russian Serials: Cumulative Index of Serials Published Outside the USSR
Z6956.R9 S35 (4 vols)

Each entry gives title, publisher and date information. Where possible, editorial information and topic are included.

Historical Directory of Saskatchewan Newspapers, 1878-1983
Published by: Saskatchewan Archives Board, 1984
REF Z6954 .C2 M28 1984
Documents MICROLOG: 85-05254

History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820
Z6951.B8 1947

Inventory of Ontario Newspapers, 1793-1986
Published by: Micromedia Ltd., 1987
REF Z6954 .C2 I58 1987
Documents MICROLOG: 97-00254

La Presse québécoise: des origines à nos jours
REF Z6954.C21 (10 vols)

Provides, where possible, title, publication information, dates, format, staff information and content description.

Newspapers in Microform
REF Z6945.N754 (1948-1983)

American in focus

Last Updated: 14 June 2013