Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Newspapers: Historical News

Canada

Local Newspapers on Microfilm at Stauffer Library:

Stauffer library has many Canadian newspapers from the late eighteenth century to the mid-twentieth century on microfilm. They are listed here, by province and city, but can also be searched by title in QCAT. Please note, there are other newspapers on microfilm at W.D. Jordan Special Collections, which can be found via QCAT.

Alberta
British Columbia
Manitoba
 
New Brunswick
Newfoundland
Ontario
 
Prince Edward Island
Quebec
Saskatchewan
 
Yukon  

Democracy at War
(1939-1946)

An archive of WWII-era Canadian newspaper articles released by the Canadian War Museum.

OurOntario.ca Community Newspapers Collection

Peel's Prairie Provinces: Newspapers

Alberta Newspapers Collection

British Columbia Historical Newspapers

Manitobia: Newspapers

Nova Scotia Historical Newspapers

Nova Scotia Historical Newspaper Project

Prince George Newspapers

Free digital & searchable access to Prince George's newspapers from 1909 to 1976 including the Citizen.

United States

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Search and view newspaper pages from 1836-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Publication coverage: Varies depending on publication.
Includes historically significant leftist newspapers such as The People (est. 1891) and The Class Struggle (1931-1937).
Publication coverage: Varies by title
Titles include: Atlanta Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Hartford Courant, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post.

List of U.S. Historical newspapers on microfilm at Stauffer Library (pdf) (listed by title)

List of U.S. Historical newspapers on microfilm at Stauffer Library (pdf) (listed by city)

World

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
British Humanities Index
1962-2009
AI3 .B86 Compact shelving
Indexes regional news publications from England. (Supercedes The Subject Index to Periodicals).
Searchable, digital facsimiles of English newspapers and journals.
10 newspapers (Le Figaro (1826-1942) and L'Humanité (1904-1944) included).
To access, go to the University of Illinois Historical Newspapers page and scroll to the section, More International Digital Newspaper Collections.
Publication coverage: 1800-1900
Collection of magazines, journals and specialty newspapers provides an in-depth view of life in the Victorian age.
Full-text, fully searchable digital archive of nearly 1,270 newspapers and news pamphlets from the UK.

Gale NewsVault enables cross-searching of Gale’s historical newspapers from a single interface, providing access to more than 400 years of content and 10 million digitized pages. The following are among the titles and collections indexed:

  • 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
  • 19th Century UK Periodicals: Empire
  • 19th Century UK Periodicals: New Readerships,
  • Illustrated London News Historical Archive
  • Times Digital Archive

Newspapers from Around the World

Last Updated: 24 July 2014