Newspapers: Selected Newspapers
This section covers a small selection of newspapers available in Stauffer Library and online, which are of frequent interest to researchers.
CANADA 
Kingston
- Whig-Standard 1926-
- Current newspapers: held until microfilm received.
- 1926- Microfilm AN5.6.K56B75 (check QCAT)
- 1989- Sun Media
- 1985- 5/2006 Canadian Newsstand (1993 not available)
- Publishing History of the Kingston Whig-Standard and its Predecessors:
- British Whig 1834-1926 (merged with Daily Standard to form Whig-Standard in 1926)
- Daily British Whig 1849-1926
check QCAT for microfilm and folio holdings (incomplete) - Weekly British Whig 1834-1926
check QCAT for microfilm holdings (incomplete)
online: 1834-1836; 1844-1850 via OurOntario.ca Community Newspapers Collection
- Daily British Whig 1849-1926
- Daily Standard 1908-1926 check QCAT for microfilm holdings
- Daily News 1851-1903 (continued 1908-1926 as Daily Standard)
- 1851-1901 check QCAT for microfilm holdings (incomplete)
1862-1864 online via Paper of Record - 1851-1901 check QCAT for microfilm holdings (incomplete)
- British Whig 1834-1926 (merged with Daily Standard to form Whig-Standard in 1926)
- Selective Pre-1926 Kingston Newspapers:
- Chronicle and Gazette 1833-1847
1833-1845 online via Paper of Record
1835-1837; 1841-1847 online via OurOntario.ca Community Newspapers Collection
1819-1845 check QCAT for microfilm and folio holdings - Kingston Chronicle 1819-1833 (continued by Chronicle and Gazette)
1818-1820 online under Kingston Gazette via OurOntario.ca Community Newspapers Collection
1826-1832 online via OurOntario.ca Community Newspapers Collection
1819-1833 check QCAT for microfilm and folio holdings - Kingston Gazette 1810-1818 (superseded by Kingston Chronicle)
1810-1818 online via OurOntario.ca Community Newspapers Collection
1810-1818 check QCAT for microfilm and folio holdings
- Chronicle and Gazette 1833-1847
- Indexes for Kingston Newspapers Prior to 1985:
- 1810-1848 online via OurOntario.ca Community Newspapers Collection
- 1833-1845 online via Paper of Record
- 1849-1861 no index
- 1862-1864 online via Paper of Record
- 1865-1984 no index
Globe and Mail
Current newspapers: held until microfilm received
1844- Microfilm AN5.6.T67G55
1844- Canada's Heritage from 1844 (excluding latest 3-4 years)
11/1977- Canadian Newsstand
11/1977- Factiva
1985- Gale CPI.Q
Hill Times
12/1997- Access online via QCAT
National Post
Current newspapers: held until microfilm received
10/1998- Microfilm AN5.6.T67N386
11/1998- Factiva (Includes Financial Post from 1990- )
10/1998- Canadian Newsstand (delayed 1 day)
Financial Post
1907-1998 Stauffer Microfilms (HG3.F53t)
1990- Factiva (search the National Post)
10/1998- Canadian Newsstand (delayed 1 day; search the National Post)
1985-10/1998 Canadian Newsstand
Indexes:
1907-1948 Index to the Financial Post REF HG3 .F52 1990u
1920-1976 Canadian Periodical Index REF AI3 .C21
1988-1999 CPI.Q
Ottawa Citizen
Current newspapers: retained for 3 months
1846-1997 Microfilm AN5.6 .O88 C58 (with gaps)
1985- Canadian Newsstand (delayed 1 day)
2001- Factiva
Toronto Star
Current newspapers: held until microfilm received
1892- Microfilm AN5.6.T67 T67
2010-2 months ago ProQuest Digital Microfilm
(Works well with Firefox)
1894- Pages of the Past (excluding latest 3 years)
1985- Canadian Newsstand
1986- Factiva
UNITED STATES
Atlanta Constitution
1986- Factiva
1868-1945 Proquest Historical Newspapers
Boston Globe
1987- Factiva
1872-1927 Proquest Historical Newspapers
Chicago Defender
1910-1975 Proquest Historical Newspapers
Chicago Tribune
1849-1989 Proquest Historical Newspapers
Christian Science Monitor
Microfilm: AN2.B6 C56 (1965-1996)
1988-1 day ago Factiva
1908-1999 Proquest Historical Newspapers
Hartford Courant
1764-1987 Proquest Historical Newspapers
Los Angeles Times
1881-1989 Proquest Historical Newspapers
New York Times
Current newspapers: held until microfilm received
1851- Microfilm AN2.N5N48
2008-1 month ago ProQuest Digital Microfilm
(Works well with Firefox)
1980- Factiva
1851-2009 ProQuest Historical Newspapers Includes Index 1851-1993
Wall Street Journal
Current newspapers: held until microfilm received
1945- Microfilm HG1.W3t
2008-2 months ago ProQuest Digital Microfilm
(Works well with Firefox)
6/1979- Factiva
1984- ProQuest ABI/INFORM
1889-1995 Proquest Historical Newspapers
Washington Post
1968-1996 Microfilm AN2.W3 W37 (Stauffer Compact)
6/1984- Factiva
1877-1996 Proquest Historical Newspapers
GREAT BRITAIN
Illustrated London News
1842-2003 Historical Archive
Manchester Guardian
1981- Factiva
The Times (London)
1785- Microfilm AN4.L6T56 (excluding latest 2-3 months)
1785-1985 The Times Digital Archive
1981- Factiva
Indexes:
1790-1905 Palmer's Index to the Times
1906-1950 Microfilm AI21.T5
1951- REF AI21.T5 (Index Shelves)
Guardian London
2010-2 months ago ProQuest Digital Microfilm
(Works well with Firefox)
Last Updated: 19 June 2013