Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Newspapers: Websites

Please note: some of the content on these websites may be restricted to subscribers. For more information about why Queen's does not subscribe, please see the FAQs.

Portals

AAN: Association of Alternative Newsmedia, Directory

Provides contact, circulation, publication, demographic and staffing information for member newspapers from the United States and Canada. Includes website links.

ABYZ News Links

Provides links to news websites with fulltext news content from around the world. Includes television and radio news.

ipl2

Links to news websites around the world, with an emphasis on local news.

Newspapers (Library and Archives Canada)

Provides links to campus newspapers, fulltext archives of Canadian newspapers, citation indexes to historical news, and news directories among others. Extensive coverage of American and international news sources and indexes is included.

News and Newspapers Online

A website of the University of North Carolina at Greensboro, provides links to online newspaper websites worldwide. Fulltext and coverage are indicated for each title-link.

Newspapers.com

Over 1200 newspapers across the US, from the 1700s–2000s.

onlinenewspapers.com

Provides links to thousands of newspapers from around the world, and has excellent coverage of Canadian local and community news. Not all links are English-language.

world-newspapers.com

Provides links to free content on thousands of news and magazine websites from around the world. Organized geographically, and includes short descriptions.

Canada

Canada.com

"...offers newspaper, television and unique online content from some of the nation's most trusted and well-respected media properties, including National Post, Global National, Ottawa Citizen [etc.]"

Canadian Newspapers

Canadian Newspaper Association provides links to the websites of Canadian newspapers, with excellent coverage of local and community papers.

CBC

Canada's national public broadcaster provides news and entertainment programming in English and French.

cyberpresse.ca

The online home of several Canadian French-language papers: La Presse, Le Droit, Le Nouvellist, La Tribune, La Voix de l'Est, and Quotidien.

Le Devoir

One of Canada's leading French-language newspapers.

Google News Canada

A google search engine that allows for searching or browsing 4,500 news sources. Topics are updated every 15 minutes.

The Journal (Queen's University) from Sept 8, 2000-

Print copies for previous years are located at Queen's Archives.
The Campus newspaper of Queen's University.

Newspapers at Libraries and Archives Canada

rabble.ca

A Canadian alternative news website, with a political focus.

United States

CNN

One of the most popular American 24-hour television news stations, CNN's website offers print news on the topics and stories of the day.

Financial Times

"...recognised worldwide for its authoritative, accurate, and analytical reporting, is one of the world's leading global business news organisations."

Forbes Magazine

An American magazine targeted to businesspeople, Forbes has significant business news content.

Fox News

An American cable news station and provides information about the latest headlines.

Independent Media Center

"...a network of collectively run media outlets for the creation of radical, accurate, and passionate telling of the truth."

Mother Jones

"An independent nonprofit whose roots lie in a commitment to social justice implemented through […] investigative reporting."

The Nation

"...America's oldest weekly magazine and one of its premier journals of opinion. Established by abolitionists in 1865..."

NBCNews.com

Formerly known as msnbc.com.

News Frontier Database

Produced by the Columbia Journalism Review (CJR), lists nonprofit and for-profit news outlets primarily devoted to "original reporting and content production", such as Politico, The Locust Fork News-Journal, and the Bleacher Report.

PBS

"[PBS is] that one place where education comes before titillation, where partisanship is checked at the newsroom door and, above all, is a media option that measures success by how many minds we open, ... how well we serve this democracy."

Wired.com

Wired News offers breaking news, as well as sections devoted to technology, culture, business and politics.

World

For more international news content, please see the Portals section.

Al Jazeera and Al Jazeera English

"Free from the shackles of censorship and government control Aljazeera has offered its audiences in the Arab world much needed freedom of thought, independence, and room for debate. In the rest of the world, ... offers a different and a new perspective."

BBC News

"...aims to provide access to the information and ideas everyone needs to make sense of an increasingly complex world, providing background and context to the news."

Media UK

Provides links to newspapers from the United Kingdom, with links to many local and community newspapers as well as major national and regional dailies. Includes contact information, editorial staff, and user reviews of the websites.

Reuters

"Reuters is a global information company providing indispensable information tailored for professionals in the financial services, media and corporate markets."

World Press Review

Contains reprinted (and in some cases translated and edited) news articles from outside the United States, as well as some original material. Includes a selection of worldwide editorial and political cartoons.

Last Updated: 13 June 2013