Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Introduction to Research: Writing Your Paper

A selected list of books designed to help you write a research paper follows:

Chicago Manual of Style
REF Z253 .U69 2010 (and SL books)

The 16th edition by the University of Chicago Press for authors, editors, and copywriters. Includes detailed examples of all elements of style from punctuation, preparing tables, footnotes, and bibliographies, to design and typography.

A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations
REF LB2369 .T8 1996

Kate Turabian's standard guide for student writers. Coverage in fourteen chapters includes: parts of the paper; abbreviations and numbers; spelling and punctuation; quotations; tables; illustrations; how to cite sources of all types; and sample layouts.

The Research Essay: A Briefing for Students
REF LB2369 .R62 1985t

A simplified and concise guide to the research process including: selecting a topic; collecting information; essay structure; techniques for creating a draft paper; and examples of quoting sources, preparing endnotes, and making a bibliography.

Social Sciences Style (SSS) by Margot Northey et al

Making Sense : a Student's Guide to Research and Writing : Social Sciences
H61.8 N67 2009
Making Sense : a Student's Guide to Research and Writing
LB2369 .N67 2009 (Education); 2007 (SL)
Making Sense in the Humanities: A Student's Guide to Writing and Style
REF LB2369 .N675 1990u
These guides outline library research tools; how to write an essay, book review, and examination; how to write with style; common errors in grammar and punctuation; and how to document sources.

Writing Essays: A Short Guide
REF PE1471 .N67 1987t

Published by the Queen's English Department in 1987, this short guide outlines:
a)specific writing techniques such as how to develop an effective thesis, organize your argument clearly, know what a paragraph is and does
b) common errors of grammar and basic principles of punctuation
c) general format of an essay and documentation such as citing works, using endnotes, and preparing a bibliography.

The following works focus on how to format and document a research paper:

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
REF LB2369 .G53 2009

This handbook is intended as an aid for university students, especially beginning researchers. It includes information on selecting and researching a topic; note taking; and writing footnotes and bibliographies. Sample research pages are presented.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
REF BF76.7 .P83 2010

The authoritative style manual for anyone writing in the field of psychology. Chapters discuss the content and organization of a manuscript, writing style, the American Psychological Association style, proofreading, and examples of citing references. The final chapter describes the journals of the American Psychological Association.

Last Updated: 08 December 2010