Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Russian History: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Consult specialized encyclopedias or dictionaries to get a broad overview of a subject, a concise overview of a concept, school of thought or person. To find encyclopedias or dictionaries on your topic, search QCAT using the keywords of your topic combined with "encyclopedia" or "dictionaries".

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Russia and the Former Soviet Union
REF DK14 .C34 1994t
Divided into sections covering the physical environment, peoples, history, art and architecture, language and literature, cultural life, science, economy, society, politics, the military, and international relations.
Encyclopedia of Russian History
REF DK14 .E53 2004 (4 volumes)
Over 1500 alphabetically arranged entries covering from Kievan Rus to the post-Soviet era. Includes a chronology, illustrations, photos and maps. Entries are cross-referenced with bibliographies for further reading.
Encyclopedia of Rusyn History and Culture
REF DJK28 .R87 E53t 2002
Over 1,100 alphabetically arranged entries in areas such as individuals, organizations, political parties, historical terms, geographic regions, historical events. Includes maps.
The Longman Companion to America, Russia, and the Cold War, 1941-1998
D840 .Y68 1999
Includes a detailed chronology, a glossary, and maps.
The Longman Companion to Imperial Russia
REF DK113 .L66 2000
Covers the period from Peter the Great through Nicholas II (1695-1917). Entries address broad topics including central government, foreign policy, the revolutionary movement, music, art and literature, religion and the Church, education, and the peasantry. Includes a glossary, biographical sketches and a guide to further reading.
The Modern Encyclopedia of Russian and Soviet History
REF DK14 .M6 (v.1-58)
An extensive resource with signed entries that cover a wide range of topics. Arranged alphabetically with an index for every 10 volumes, it is indexed by author and time period. Supplementary volumes have been published.

Last Updated: 17 March 2011