Sociology: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Consult specialized encyclopedias or dictionaries to get a broad overview of a subject, a concise overview of a concept, school of thought or person. To find encyclopedias or dictionaries on your topic, search QCAT using the keywords of your topic combined with "encyclopedia" or "dictionaries".
eg. "social justice" encyclopedia
The emphasis of this guide is on electronic (online) subscription resources but some of the titles listed below are also available in print in the reference collection located on the main floor of Stauffer Library. To obtain call numbers for print reference works, perform a title search in QCAT for the resource in which you are interested.
Featured Title
Concise Encyclopedia of Sociology
"This concise encyclopedia is the most complete international survey of sociology ever created in one volume."
Major online reference resources for sociology (consisting of companions, dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks) include Blackwell Reference Online, Oxford Reference Online, Sage Reference Online, and the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Blackwell Reference Online
Blackwell Reference Online is a vast online library providing full text access to over 400 authoritative social sciences reference works, including dictionaries, companions and encyclopedias. The following are some of the major reference works relevant to sociological inquiry:
![Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology [Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology]](http://library.queensu.ca/files/imagepicker/s/stauffer/blackwellencycl.jpg)
Dictionaries
The Blackwell Dictionary of Modern Social Thought
Encyclopedias
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
(highly recommended resource)
Companions
The Blackwell Companion to Criminology
The Blackwell Companion to Major Classical Social Theorists
The Blackwell Companion to Major Contemporary Social Theorists
The New Blackwell Companion to Social Theory
The Blackwell Companion to Sociology
The Blackwell Companion to the Sociology of Culture
The Blackwell Companion to the Sociology of Families
Oxford Reference Online
Includes:
Science, Technology, and Society
Dictionary of the Social Sciences
Dictionary of Sociology
Dictionary of Statistics
Sage Reference Online
Includes:
Encyclopedia of Criminological Theory
21st Century Criminology: A Reference Handbook
Encyclopedia of Group Processes & Intergroup Relations
Encyclopedia of Identity
Encyclopedia of Race and Crime
Encyclopedia of Research Design
Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media
The SAGE Handbook of Sociology
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Includes:
Encyclopedia of Communication and Information
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice
Encyclopedia of Sociology
Last Updated: 15 May 2012