Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Urban and Regional Planning: Article Indexes

Journal articles are not listed in QCAT. Use an index to find magazine and journal articles. Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic. There are different types of articles: scholarly, popular or trade.

Tip: Remember to search journal title and not article title in QCAT

Key Indexes

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
A pre-selected group of 3 databases can be searched simultaneously from this starting point: Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, IBSS, and PAIS.
Publication coverage: 1934-present (plus selective coverage back to 1741) - updated weekly
Covers all aspects of architecture and design, including history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, and historic preservation.
Publication coverage: 1980 - present
Covers a range of political, social, public policy and urban planning issues in journals and monographs.
Publication coverage: 1951-   (updated quarterly)
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences. Interdisciplinary coverage includes social policy, demography, urban and rural studies and more...
REF Z5942.J68t from 1988-
Online from 1999-
Covers city and regional planning, environment, economics, housing internationally. Since 1996, has included CPL Bibliographies.
Publication coverage: 1915 - present
Public Affairs Information Service International covers political, social, public policy and urban planning issues.
Publication coverage: 1960s-
National Transportation Library of the Department of Transportation, U.S. provides access to federal, state, local, and association publications and to the IRRD database for additional coverage of international transportation.

Other Useful Indexes

  You are connecting from off-campus. You will be prompted to enter your NetID and password before connecting to a Queen's-only database.
Covers topics such as business conditions and trends, economics, finance, human resources, marketing, retail location and other business aspects of urban studies.
Publication coverage: 1884 - present (updated weekly)
Land use, environmental impact, transportation, public policy, mathematical modelling and simulation, economic and social effects. A primary database for engineering. Interdisciplinary and international.
Publication coverage: 1954 - present
Access restricted to the Queen's community (6 user limit)
An essential index for American and Canadian history topics, including government, current affairs, and urban history.
Publication coverage: 1850s-
A database of architectural information and citations to periodical articles and books about buildings in Toronto and the rest of Ontario.
Publication coverage: 1984 - present
For 1907-1984 coverage see: Art Index Retrospective

Print holdings: Library also has older volumes in print: check QCAT for details.
Coverage includes city planning, design, landscape architecture and architecture.
Publication coverage: 1982 - present
Indexes Canadian popular and academic journals as well as business and special interest journals.
Online from 1982-
Index to monographs and reports from federal, provincial and municipal government and non-governmental sources.
Demographic and population literature, it presents an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials.
Publication coverage: 1956 - present
Access restricted to the Queen's community (50 user limit)
Includes demography, cultural, economic, historical and human geography, planning and environmental studies and industrial relations.
Publication coverage: 1952 - present
Covers social planning policy and development, public policy, demography, environmental interactions, urban sociology, and community development.

Last Updated: 17 July 2009