Urban and Regional Planning: Books & E-books
E-books
Note: E- books are often collected within "packages". The catalogue record for every individual book title in these packages may not yet be loaded into QCAT. However, for e-books not yet listed in QCAT, you can search directly within the packages.
Social Sciences and Humanities e-books | All e-book collections at Queen's
E-Book collections of note include:
- Canadian Electronic Library
- Canadian Publishers Collection (non-fiction and reference titles)
- Canadian Public Policy Collection (nonprofit and public-sector organizations)
- Canadian Health Research Collection
- ebrary
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (encyclopedias: many disciplines)
- MyiLibrary
- Scholars Portal Books
- Springer eBook Collection
Note: The following book collections are freely available on the Web
- Bartleby.com
- Electronic Text Center (U. Virgina) (Humanities texts in 12 languages)
- Google Book Search
- e.g. The Complete Plays of Shakespeare
- Institute of Intergovernmental Relations Check out 'Publications' and 'Working Papers' (Queen's University, School of Policy Studies)
- Internet Archive: Million Book Project (Carnegie Mellon University)
- Online Books Page (All subject fields)
- Project Gutenburg
Books
To find books by a particular author/person, search QCAT by author:
Mumford, Lewis
To find books about a particular author/person, search QCAT by subject heading:
Mumford, Lewis, 1895-
To find books on a topic, use a keyword search if you do not know the correct subject heading for a topic. Think of the focus (or key) words that describe your topic.
Cities and development
Select useful titles and look at the full record for subject headings. Click on the subject heading to do a new search or use words from the subject heading to modify your keyword search. Some useful Urban Planning subject headings are:
City planning - Canada (or other country)
City planning - History
Regional planning
Regional planning - Canada (or other country)
Regional planning - Law and legislation - Ontario
Cities and towns - United States (or other country)
Community development
Land use
Urbanization
These are just some examples. It is always a good idea to look at all the subject headings ("Subject(s)") in QCAT in the full record of books that are relevant to your topic. The "Subject(s)" words and phrases are hypertext links to related resources.
Last Updated: 05 October 2011