Queen's University - Utility Bar

Queen's University Library

Urban and Regional Planning: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Consult dictionaries and encyclopedias to help you understand the concepts and terminology used in development studies.

A Dictionary of Architecture
Online (part of Oxford Reference Online)

Contains thousands of entries on architects, terms, periods, and styles, this is a highly comprehensive and up-to-date dictionary covering all periods of Western architectural history.

Dictionary of Ecology
Online (part of Oxford Reference Online)

Covers a vast range of subjects, including environmental pollution, conservation, molecular ecology, and the management of habitats. Has biographical notes on eminent ecologists and other scientists.

The Encyclopedia of Housing
REF HD7287.E53 1998

Provides entries on types of housing and issues in housing, for example historical development and legal concerns.

Encyclopedia of the city
Online

Encyclopedia of Urban America: The Cities and Suburbs
REF HT123.E5 1998

Provides long entries with bibliographic information on subjects related to planning, including social aspects (for example, an entry on "Children in Cities") and biography.

Encyclopedia of Urban Planning
REF HT166.E5 1974

Includes long entries on general subjects in planning, with extensive coverage of the architectural and planning styles of different countries, and biographies.

Encyclopedia of Urban Studies
Online (©2010 by SAGE Publications)

"The encyclopedia is intended to provide comprehensive coverage of topics currently studied in urban studies."(from the Introduction)

Glossary of Zoning, Development, and Planning Terms
REF NA9108.A545 no.491/492

Offers short definitions of terms, from "convenience store" to the differences between types of housing or street configurations.

International Dictionary of Architects and Architecture
REF NA40.I48 1993t

Includes long entries for famous buildings, styles of architecture and architects. Organized alphabetically in two volumes: one for Architects and a second for Architecture.

International Encyclopedia of Human Geography

Over 1,000 detailed entries on philosophy and theory, key concepts, methods and practices, biographies of notable geographers, and geographical thought and praxis in different parts of the world.

International History of City Development
HT111.G98 (1964 - 72) 8 volumes

Includes regional treatment of urban planning styles from around the world, with each volume discussing a different area. Entries are essay length, and include discussion of individual towns, and black and white photos and maps.

The New Illustrated Book of Development Definitions
HT167.M683 1993

Includes short definitions of simple and complex ideas in urban planning. Illustrated.

Town Planning Glossary: 10,000 Multilingual Terms in One Alphabet for European Town Planners
REF HT166.V46 1990u

A multilingual dictionary to be used for the purpose of translation by planners working in a variety of languages. Definitions are not provided, only translations of terms to English, Spanish, French, Italian and German.

Urban Research in the Developing World Series (4 volumes)
HT110.U73 1994

Organized geographically, provides essay length country treatments of urban planning issues, including graphs, maps and illustrations. The first three volumes are divided as Africa, Asia and South America, while the final volume is a discussion of cities in the developing world.

Last Updated: 10 July 2013