For help locating resources, using the library, or to request a research consultation, try our Ask Us service.
Databases
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures and the Environment
Publication coverage: 1534-1850
Documents early encounters in North America from 1534 to 1850.Early European Books Collections
Publication coverage: 1450s-1700
EEB is a collection of digitized European books printed in the early modern period (1450s-1700).Publication coverage: 1600-1947.
East India Company is a collection of the digitized India Office Records held by the British Library in London.Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Publication coverage: 1701-1800
A digital collection of significant English-language and foreign-language titles printed in during the eighteenth century.Eighteenth Century Collections Online Text Creation Partnership (ECCO-TCP)
Publication coverage: 1701-1800
Contains fully searchable re-keyed, electronic editions of a selection of key texts from the Eighteenth Century Collection Online (ECCO)Publication coverage: 1737-1824
Eighteenth Century Drama is a collection of digitized play manuscripts and includes nearly every play submitted for license in the United Kingdom from 1737-1824.Publication coverage: Mid-17th to early 19th century
Brings together rare journals printed between c1680 and 1835, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life across the British Empire including the colonies of India, Canada, and the Caribbean.Eighteenth Century Journals: A Portal to Newspapers and Periodicals c1685-1835
Publication coverage: Mid-17th to early 19th Century
Many of the journals are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years. Topics covered are wide-ranging and include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton; the French Revolution; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and coffee house gossip and discussion. There is minimal overlap with Early English Books Online (EEBO), Early English Newspapers and Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO).
Empire Online contains an expansive collection of primary source documents that explore colonial history, politics, culture, and society.
Encyclopaedia Islamica Online is based on the abridged and edited translation of the Persian Dāʾirat al-Maʿārif-i Buzurg-i Islāmī, one of the most comprehensive sources on Islam and the Muslim world. Encyclopedia Islamica is particularly relevant for Shi'i studies.