Databases

Advanced Search

Browse Databases

Browse Databases A-Z

Centre for Reviews and Dissemination

Publication coverage: 1994 - 2015

The Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED) provide access to: Over 35,000 quality assessed systematic reviews of health and social care interventions; Summaries of all Cochrane systematic reviews and protocols up to March 2015; Over 17,000 economic evaluations of health and social care interventions. The HTA database will continue to be maintained for the foreseeable future at CRD and currently provides access to over 15,000 summaries of completed and ongoing health technology assessments.

CINAHL and Pre-CINAHL

Publication coverage: 1981 - very recent articles

CINAHL plus Pre-CINAHL indexes close to 3,000 English-language journals covering: nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines (e.g. respiratory technology, x-ray technology, etc.).

Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library is a collection of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.

DynaMed

DynaMed is a point-of-care tool that provides clinically-organized summaries for nearly 3,000 disease and condition topics, incorporating over 800 drug topics. Mobile access is available. Also see the Isabel (Differential Diagnosis Generator) entry below.

EMBASE

Publication coverage: 1947 - present

Embase (Excerpta Medica Database) is a biomedical and pharmacological database produced by Elsevier B.V., containing more than 30 million records including articles from more than 8,500 journals published world-wide. It contains bibliographic records with citations, abstracts and indexing derived from biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals, and is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research, pharmacology and toxicology.

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (ELS)

Publication coverage: 2001 to present

A fully searchable, working editorial site of articles by scientists and scientific historians in the fields of biochemistry and physiology, cell biology, developmental biology, ecology, evolution, genetics, immunology, molecular biology, neuroscience, microbiology and virology, plant science, structural biology, and science and society.

Ask Us

For help locating resources, using the library, or to request a research consultation, try our Ask Us service.

ask us more