Databases

Advanced Search

Browse Databases

Browse Databases A-Z

Environment Complete

Publication coverage: Varies by title. 1940s to present.

Deep coverage of environmental aspects of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.

GEOBASE

Publication coverage: 1974 - present

GEOBASE consists of the latest information on the earth sciences, ecology, geology, human and physical geography, and environmental sciences, focusing on, and highlighting, the human and social impacts on both.

Geological Maps in the Maps Library

Publication coverage: Varies by map

This is an inventory of the Canadian Geophysical and Geochemical series print maps now held in the Stauffer Maps Library.

GeologyOntario

The GeologyOntario search tool allows you to search 5 databases: the Assessment File Research Image (AFRI) database, the Abandoned Mines Information System (AMIS) database, the Ontario Drill Hole database (ODHD), the Mineral Deposit Inventory (MDI) database and the Ontario Geological Survey Publications (PUB) database. Please read the descriptions for more information on each database. The following databases can be downloaded: AFRIDownload AFRI (ZIP), AMISDownload AMIS (ZIP), ODHDDownload ODH (ZIP), and MDIDownload MDI (ZIP). The downloadable files may include a Microsoft® Excel® spreadsheet or Access® database and GIS files in shapefile format. Geoscience and mineral exploration data can be viewed spatially using the OGSEarthOpens in a new window application.

GeoRef

Publication coverage: Geology of North America: 1693 - present ; Geology worldwide: 1933 - present

Established by the American Geological Institute (AGI) in 1966, GeoRef indexes over several thousand journals in 40 languages as well as books, maps, reports, most U.S. Geological Survey publications, and American and Canadian masters and doctoral theses.

GEOSCAN Database

Publication coverage: Varies by publication

Comprises more than 45,000 records of publications released by Canada Centre for Remote Sensing (CCRS) or Geological Survey of Canada (GSC) authors.

GeoScienceWorld

Publication coverage: Varies by publication.

GeoScienceWorld (GSW) is a full-text resource for research and communications in the earth sciences, which is built on a core database of 46 peer-reviewed journals and is integrated with the GeoRef index.

IMMAGE Online

Publication coverage: 1979 - present (updated frequently)

A reference database for the international minerals industry run by the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining Online.

INSPEC

Publication coverage: 1896 - present

Inspec is a multidisciplinary database covering the literature of physics, electrical engineering, electronics, mechanical and production engineering, communications and computing dating back to 1896.

Knovel

Publication coverage: Varies by title

Knovel is a searchable database of more than 5,000 engineering and applied science handbooks and other reference works.

Ask Us

For help locating resources, using the library, or to request a research consultation, try our Ask Us service.

ask us more