Databases

Advanced Search

Browse Databases

Browse Databases A-Z

Lyell Collection

Publication coverage: 1811 to present, depending on publication.

The Lyell Collection represents one of the largest integrated collections of online Earth science literature available with >18,000 articles. Images and datasets are also available.

National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)

NTRL contains records for 3 million US federal technical reports dating back to 1964 and ~800,000 full-text reports, most from 1995 forward.

OSTI.GOV

Publication coverage: 1947 - present

This web portal, formerly known as SciTech Connect, contains more than 3 million references (445,000 full-text) to reports, articles, patents, datasets, presentations, software, and other scientific and technical information arising from research supported by the U.S. Department of Energy.

PubAg

Publication coverage: Varies by publication

PubAg is a public database produced by the National Agriculture Library (NAL) containing references to articles related to the agricultural sciences.

Scholars Portal Journals

Publication coverage: Varies by journal title

Full-text access to more than 30 million articles from over 13,000 scholarly journals, from a number of scholarly publishers, such as Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Oxford University Press, Wiley-Blackwell, Sage Publications, SpringerLINK, Taylor and Francis, and more. Multi-disciplinary in coverage and scope.

Science Citation Index Expanded

Publication coverage: 1900 - present

Access to current and retrospective citations, author abstracts, and cited references found in approximately 5,900 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals.

SciFinder

Publication coverage: 1907 - present.

SciFinder® is the world's premier chemical information database. Produced by the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), a division of the American Chemical Society, SciFinder® provides access to chemical structures, properties, spectra, reactions, and literature sourced from Chemical Abstracts (CAPlus) and MEDLINE. Regulated chemical information and chemical supplier catalogues are also searchable. SciFinder® indexes 50,000 journal titles (historical and current) and patents from 63 patent authorities. As of November 2017, it contained more than 45 million literature references.

SEG Digital Library

Publication coverage: Varies by publication

The SEG Digital Library provides a single access point and interface consistency for the Society of Exploration Geophysicists' two journals, its meeting abstracts, and its best-selling encyclopedic dictionary. Coverage includes a complete archive all technical articles published in GEOPHYSICS, THE LEADING EDGE, and the SEG Technical Program Expanded Abstracts.

USGS Publications Warehouse

The USGS Publcations Warehouse is an index of the U.S. Geological Survey's official publications, including articles, series reports, book chapters, maps, other government publications, and conference proceedings. Examples of their series include current series (e.g. Open-File Reports, Professional Papers) and retired series (e.g. Bulletins, Monographs, Annual Reports). Many have been digitized and are freely available. The Publications Warehouse also indexes materials published by USGS authors in non-USGS publications, but these may not be freely available. The Warehouse indexes over 150,000 publications published over more than 100 years of the Survey's existence.

Ask Us

For help locating resources, using the library, or to request a research consultation, try our Ask Us service.

ask us more