Databases

Advanced Search

Browse Databases

Browse Databases A-Z

Centre for Reviews and Dissemination

Publication coverage: 1994 - 2015

The Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED) provide access to: Over 35,000 quality assessed systematic reviews of health and social care interventions; Summaries of all Cochrane systematic reviews and protocols up to March 2015; Over 17,000 economic evaluations of health and social care interventions. The HTA database will continue to be maintained for the foreseeable future at CRD and currently provides access to over 15,000 summaries of completed and ongoing health technology assessments.

CINAHL and Pre-CINAHL

Publication coverage: 1981 - very recent articles

CINAHL plus Pre-CINAHL indexes close to 3,000 English-language journals covering: nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines (e.g. respiratory technology, x-ray technology, etc.).

Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library is a collection of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.

DynaMed Plus

DynaMed Plus is a next-generation clinical reference resource useful for getting answers to clinical questions quickly and easily. Content is written and reviewed by a team of physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis.

EBM Reviews

Ovid’s Evidence Based Medicine Reviews includes the Cochrane Library as well as ACP Journal Club. The Cochrane Library is a collection of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.

EBM Reviews - ACP Journal Club

ACP Journal Club is part of Ovid's EBM Reviews collection and includes studies which ACP's editors have selected as methodologically sound and clinically relevant. The editors screen the top clinical journals for articles, and write enhanced abstracts and commentary on the study's value, helping clinicians to quickly understand and apply to their practice important changes in medical knowledge, without having to read and synthesize thousands of journal articles.

EBM Reviews - Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials is a bibliographic database of definitive controlled trials, and part of Ovid's EBM Reviews collection. It contains over 300,000 bibliographic references to controlled trials in health care together with references to clinical trials identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration in MEDLINE and EMBASE. Contributors follow quality control standards to ensure that only reports of definite randomized controlled trials or controlled clinical trials are included. These controlled trials included were identified by the contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration to create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews.

EBM Reviews - Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews is part of Ovid's EBM Reviews collection, and includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.

EMBASE

Publication coverage: 1947 - present

Embase (Excerpta Medica Database) is a biomedical and pharmacological database produced by Elsevier B.V., containing more than 30 million records including articles from more than 8,500 journals published world-wide. It contains bibliographic records with citations, abstracts and indexing derived from biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals, and is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research, pharmacology and toxicology.

Ask Us

For help locating resources, using the library, or to request a research consultation, try our Ask Us service.

ask us more