For help locating resources, using the library, or to request a research consultation, try our Ask Us service.
Databases
Publication coverage: 1737-1824
Eighteenth Century Drama is a collection of digitized play manuscripts and includes nearly every play submitted for license in the United Kingdom from 1737-1824.Publication coverage: Mid-17th to early 19th century
Brings together rare journals printed between c1680 and 1835, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life across the British Empire including the colonies of India, Canada, and the Caribbean.Eighteenth Century Journals: A Portal to Newspapers and Periodicals c1685-1835
Publication coverage: Mid-17th to early 19th Century
Many of the journals are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years. Topics covered are wide-ranging and include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton; the French Revolution; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and coffee house gossip and discussion. There is minimal overlap with Early English Books Online (EEBO), Early English Newspapers and Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO).
Empire Online contains an expansive collection of primary source documents that explore colonial history, politics, culture, and society.
Encyclopaedia Islamica Online is based on the abridged and edited translation of the Persian Dāʾirat al-Maʿārif-i Buzurg-i Islāmī, one of the most comprehensive sources on Islam and the Muslim world. Encyclopedia Islamica is particularly relevant for Shi'i studies.
Contains more than 21,000 entries on all aspects of Jewish tradition, religion, contemporary culture, politics and history.
Broad coverage of the history and culture of China since 1800, including people, politics, economics, religion, philosophy, traditions, art, and literature.
English Historical Documents is a comprehensive, annotated collection of documents on British history from 500 to 1914.
Publication coverage: 1473-1800
Catalogue of early printed books.Everyday Life and Women in America
Publication coverage: c.1800-1920
This collection includes monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides from the 19th and early 20th centuries. The material reflects political, social and gender issues in the United States, including religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.