Examples of Online Resources for Teaching & Learning
Prepared by Cory Laverty, January 2003
MERLOT is a resource that provides links to online learning materials in many subjects. These resources are free to the public and are intended for faculty and students in higher education.
CLOE (Co-Operative Learning Object Exchange)
CLOE is a collaborative project of 8 Ontario universities to develop multimedia-rich learning resources that are freely available for use in courses.
Digital Collections for Pictures and Primary Source Materials
Library of Congress: http://www.loc.gov/ includes:
1. American Memory collection of U.S. history and culture including primary sources materials: http://memory.loc.gov/
2. Global Gateway: World Culture and Resources: http://international.loc.gov/intldl/intldlhome.html
3. Exhibitions: Online Galleries: http://www.loc.gov/exhibits/
4. Portals to the World: http://www.loc.gov/rr/international/portals.html
5. Click on Search Our Catalogs for: Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC). It contains digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures.
Canada's Digital Collections: http://collections.ic.gc.ca/
Subject listings for specialized Canadian sites with pictures.
Early Canadiana Online: http://www.canadiana.org/eco/index.html
Use for finding online material documenting Canadian history from the first European contact to the late 19th century.
National Science Digital Library: www.nsdl.org
Smithsonian Institute: http://www.si.edu/
National Geographic: http://www.ngsimages.com/
The search box is on the front page allows for a simple keyword search; an advanced search link underneath allows you to search by image orientation (portrait, landscape, etc.) category (including animals, adventure, concept, natural history, and world culture), media type (color, black and white, or duotone), and license status. You can
also specify the number of results you want per page (the default is nine.)
Open Video Project: http://www.open-video.org/
Internet Archive: http://www.archive.org/
Access to the "Wayback Machine", moving images, text, audio, and software.
European Chronicles Online (ECHO): http://pc-erato2.iei.pi.cnr.it/echo/
Created by the European Union IST Programme
Music and Audio
MP3.com, Inc. is home to one of the largest collections of digital music on the Internet and features streaming and downloadable music from more than 250,000 artists and over 1.6 million songs.
Dismuke's Virtual Talking Machine: http://www.dismuke.org/
"The site contains several ways to enjoy early 20th century old time music. There's a Live365 station covering the music of 1925-1935 and a selection of pop music from the 1920s and 1930s. The audio is in Real format.
Voices of World War II
The project content is delivered in a website created to focus on World War II and is based on 100 rare and fragile transcription discs (16 inch glass & metal acetate discs) from the Arthur B. Church-KMBC Radio Collection. The nucleus of the project focused on these unique archival sound recordings supplemented by manuscript materials, including still images, moving images, and oral histories, to showcase how WWII was experienced in Kansas City through the popular media.
Curriculum resources authorized by professional educators and general interest educational and government sites.
World Lecture Hall: http://www.utexas.edu/world/lecture/
"Your entry point to free online course materials from around the world."
Locate Web Resources by Topic
Apart from searching Google …
BUBL LINK is the name of a catalogue of selected Internet resources covering all academic subject areas and catalogued according to DDC (Dewey Decimal Classification). All items are selected, evaluated, catalogued and described. Links are checked and fixed each month. LINK stands for Libraries of Networked Knowledge.
"INFOMINE is a virtual library of Internet resources relevant to faculty, students, and research staff at the university level. It contains useful Internet resources like databases, electronic journals, electronic books, bulletin boards, mailing lists, online library card catalogs, articles, directories of researchers, and many other types of information. "
Librarians' Index to the Internet: http://www.lii.org/
"Our motto: "Information You Can Trust." The Librarians' Index to the Internet (lii.org) is a searchable, annotated subject directory of more than 10,000 Internet resources selected and evaluated by librarians for their usefulness to users of public libraries. lii.org is used by both librarians and the general public as a reliable and efficient guide to Internet resources."
The Internet Public Library: http://www.ipl.org/
National Library of Canada : http://www.nlc-bnc.ca/caninfo/ecaninfo.htm
Canadian Information by Subject. A to Z listing; updated and expanded regularly.
Copyright Guidelines for Canadian Educators: Frequently Asked Questions (June 2002)
Taken from the Media Awareness network:
CBC Radio: Wired Classroom
CBC Radio And Television Archives: http://archives.cbc.ca/
There are over a thousand news and current affairs radio and TV clips. The site is searchable by keyword or browsable by categories. Categories include sports, life & society, conflict & war, and people. Click on a category and you'll get several topics. Topics under life & society include Christmas, Marshall McLuhan, and a 1984 Papal visit. Pick a topic and you'll get several clips with thumbnail stills. Each item contains a brief note as to what it's about, as well as the media type (radio or television) and the running length. It looks like the clips play in Windows Media Player format. The breadth of clips offered here is amazing. You can listen to Churchill's "Chicken" speech or see a story about the Cabbage Patch Kid mania. You can follow the devastation of Hurricane Hazel or check out the punk rock movement in Canada.
Video & Film ["Media"] Catalog - Ontario Universities Interfilm Service
This link is available from the Library home page: Indexes & Databases -- choose V for videos. The media catalog is a searchable database of videos and films at several Ontario universities. Materials can be ordered by placing a request online at www.its.queensu.ca/vmp/vidre.html, by email at firstname.lastname@example.org, or by phone at (53)32043.
The Education Library also a collection of multimedia including videos and these can be borrowed for two weeks. Search this collection via a keyword in QCAT on the Library home page:
Examples: video? and (ecosystems or ecology)
audio? and birds
The Kingston Public Library also has a large selection of materials in their online AV/Video catalogue. Go to http://geoweb.kfpl.library.on.ca/ and click on: Begin a new branch search -- All Branches -- then click on Videos.
British Pathe Film Archive: http://www.britishpathe.com
Described as "… the world's first digital news archive." The site provides 3500 hours of film footage used for cinema newsreels covering news, sport, social history, and entertainment from 1896 to 1970.
Amazing Picture Machine: http://www.ncrtec.org/picture.htm
Engines that search by format types, file extensions, or
Alta Vista: http://www.altavista.com
Lycos Multimedia: http://multimedia.lycos.com/
Yahoo Picture Gallery: http://gallery.yahoo.com/
Web Places Clip Art Searcher: http://www.webplaces.com/search/
Art Imagebase: http://www.thinker.org
Art Images for College Teaching: http://www.mcad.edu/AICT/index.html
AICT is a free-use image resource for the educational community.
Education Resources for Teachers, Administrators, Students, and Parents
HorizonLive: Teaching Learning Live Online
HorizonLive.com is a leading provider of synchronous platforms supporting live, web-based collaboration, elearning, web conferencing, and interactive webcasts. They enable corporate and educational institutions to conduct effective, real-time, interactive web-based communications over intranets or the Internet, regardless of geographic location, bandwidth, or computer platform.