For help locating resources, using the library, or to request a research consultation, try our Ask Us service.
Databases
Full text historical collections including period newspapers and magazines from the 18th century to the early 20th century in the United States.
Publication coverage: 1840's-2010
Provides access to materials related to African American culture and identity from the mid-19th century through the late 20th century.African American Newspapers Series I, 1827 - 1998
Publication coverage: 1827 - 1998
Chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience, African American Newspapers, Series 1, features 280 newspapers from 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.African Diaspora, 1860-present
Publication coverage: 1860-present
Primary source documents covering migrations, communities, and ideologies of the African Diaspora through the voices of people of African descent, with a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France.African Women Bibliographic Database
Publication coverage: 1986 to present
Index to English-language publications about African women.Publication coverage: 1954 - present
America: History and Life contains citations, with abstracts to social science and humanities literature on all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present.Publication coverage: 1493-1945
American History is a collection of digitized primary sources depicting the history of the United States of America from the earliest settlers to World War II.
Includes over 19,000 biographies of significant and influential figures who lived in the U.S. from the Colonlal Period to the present.
Publication coverage: Early 18th – Mid-20th Century.
American West is a collection of digitized primary sources depicting the history of westward expansion in the United States from the early 18th to the mid-20th centuries.Publication coverage: 1701-1928
Books and newspapers that explore the act of protest in the United States from 1701-1928.