For help locating resources, using the library, or to request a research consultation, try our Ask Us service.
Databases
Combining several established indexes, C19 is a comprehensive source for discovering nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers, archives and reference material. C19 allows cross-searching the entire body of indexes or searching within each index individually.
Canadian magazines, scholarly journals, news and wire feeds and Canada focused articles spanning business, education, current affairs; also agriculture, economics, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and many more subject areas.
Streaming video access to the archives the Banyan Production company of Trinidad and Tobago, the first producer of original television in the Caribbean. Material include interviews with writers and cultural figures, documentaries, and theater, music, and dance performances.
International collections of newspapers, journals, government and legal documents, pamphlets, technical reports and other primary source materials.
Publication coverage: 1750 to 1929
China: Culture and Society is a collection of pamphlets digitized from the Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia at Cornell University.China, America and the Pacific
Publication coverage: 18th and early 20th Century
Explores the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the 18th and 20th centuries.
Provides a wide variety of original English-language source material relating to the activities and observations of British and American diplomats, missionaries, business people and tourists in China from 1793 to 1980.
Church Missionary Society Periodicals
Publication coverage: 1804 and 2009.
The Church Missionary Society Periodicals resource encompasses publications from the CMS, the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society (CEZMS) and the South American Missionary Society.Publication coverage: 1606-1822
Manuscript materials of the Colonial Office files held at The National Archives in London; contains original correspondence of the North American and Caribbean colonial governments with the British government, covering the period 1606 to 1822.Publication coverage: 1624-1870
Colonial Caribbean covers the history of the various territories under British colonial governance from 1624 to 1870. It includes administrative documentation, trade and shipping records, minutes of council meetings, as well as details of plantation life, colonial settlement, imperial rivalries across the region, and the growing concern of absentee landlords.