For help locating resources, using the library, or to request a research consultation, try our Ask Us service.
Databases
Publication coverage: 1974 - present
GEOBASE consists of the latest information on the earth sciences, ecology, geology, human and physical geography, and environmental sciences, focusing on, and highlighting, the human and social impacts on both.
The GeologyOntario search tool allows you to search 5 databases: the Assessment File Research Image (AFRI) database, the Abandoned Mines Information System (AMIS) database, the Ontario Drill Hole database (ODHD), the Mineral Deposit Inventory (MDI) database and the Ontario Geological Survey Publications (PUB) database. Please read the descriptions for more information on each database.
The following databases can be downloaded: AFRIDownload AFRI (ZIP), AMISDownload AMIS (ZIP), ODHDDownload ODH (ZIP), and MDIDownload MDI (ZIP). The downloadable files may include a Microsoft® Excel® spreadsheet or Access® database and GIS files in shapefile format.
Geoscience and mineral exploration data can be viewed spatially using the OGSEarthOpens in a new window application.
Publication coverage: Geology of North America: 1693 - present ; Geology worldwide: 1933 - present
Established by the American Geological Institute (AGI) in 1966, GeoRef indexes over several thousand journals in 40 languages as well as books, maps, reports, most U.S. Geological Survey publications, and American and Canadian masters and doctoral theses.Publication coverage: Varies by publication
Comprises more than 45,000 records of publications released by Canada Centre for Remote Sensing (CCRS) or Geological Survey of Canada (GSC) authors.Publication coverage: Varies by publication.
GeoScienceWorld (GSW) is a full-text resource for research and communications in the earth sciences, which is built on a core database of 46 peer-reviewed journals and is integrated with the GeoRef index.
The Global Environmental Justice project is an award-winning collection of 33 documentaries and teacher's guides curated by faculty. Initially focusing on Asia and North America, the GEJ project provides educators and students with an online collection of films that explore the intersections of human rights, environmental degradation, colonization, industrial development, and climate change.