For help locating resources, using the library, or to request a research consultation, try our Ask Us service.
Databases
International collections of newspapers, journals, government and legal documents, pamphlets, technical reports and other primary source materials.
Publication coverage: 1750 to 1929
China: Culture and Society is a collection of pamphlets digitized from the Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia at Cornell University.China, America and the Pacific
Publication coverage: 18th and early 20th Century
Explores the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the 18th and 20th centuries.Publication coverage: 1600-1947.
East India Company is a collection of the digitized India Office Records held by the British Library in London.
Broad coverage of the history and culture of China since 1800, including people, politics, economics, religion, philosophy, traditions, art, and literature.
Foreign Office Files for China, 1918-1980
Publication coverage: 1919-1980
The complete Foreign Office Files concerning China, Hong Kong and Taiwan for the period 1919-1980.Foreign Office Files for India Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980
Publication coverage: 1947-1980
This collection of files from the Foreign Office (later the Foreign and Commonwealth Office) and Dominions Office focuses on the political and social history of India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan.Foreign Office Files for Japan
Publication coverage: 1931-1952
Foreign Office Files for Japan consists of digitized files from the British Foreign Office regarding Japan.
The Global Environmental Justice project is an award-winning collection of 33 documentaries and teacher's guides curated by faculty. Initially focusing on Asia and North America, the GEJ project provides educators and students with an online collection of films that explore the intersections of human rights, environmental degradation, colonization, industrial development, and climate change.
India, Raj and Empire provides documents pertaining to the history of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947.