Databases

Advanced Search

Browse Databases

Browse Databases A-Z

ChemSpider

ChemSpider is a free chemical information database providing access to data for 58 million chemical substances obtained from hundreds of data sources.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics

For more than a century, the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics has been a trusted source of reliable scientific data. It contains thousands of physical and chemical data tables which are reviewed and updated on an ongoing basis

e-EROS, Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis

EROS contains detailed information on more than 4,500 reagents and catalysts that are used in organic synthesis. Approximately 100 new and updated articles are added each year.

Espacenet

Publication coverage: 1800s - present (varies by country; updated weekly)

The largest public patent database on the internet, Espacenet contains more than 100 million patent documents from more than 90 countries including Canada and the U.S., plus 2 million records for non-patent literature cited in EPO search reports.

INSPEC

Publication coverage: 1896 - present

Inspec is a multidisciplinary database covering the literature of physics, electrical engineering, electronics, mechanical and production engineering, communications and computing dating back to 1896.

Knovel

Publication coverage: Varies by title

Knovel is a searchable database of more than 5,000 engineering and applied science handbooks and other reference works.

Methods in Organic Synthesis

Publication coverage: 2000 - 2015

Methods in Organic Synthesis was discontinued in 2015. It provided graphical abstracts of the most important current developments in the field as well as new synthetic advances, including reaction schemes. Entries are indexed by reaction, reactant and reagent.

National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)

NTRL contains records for 3 million US federal technical reports dating back to 1964 and ~800,000 full-text reports, most from 1995 forward.

Natural Product Updates

Publication coverage: 2000 - present

Selected from dozens of key primary journals, this database alerts natural product scientists to the latest developments in the field. The abstracts include structure diagrams, trivial and taxonomic names, and physical and biological properties.

OSTI.GOV

Publication coverage: 1947 - present

This web portal, formerly known as SciTech Connect, contains more than 3 million references (445,000 full-text) to reports, articles, patents, datasets, presentations, software, and other scientific and technical information arising from research supported by the U.S. Department of Energy.

Ask Us

Ask Us

For help locating resources, using the library, or to request a research consultation, try our Ask Us service.

ask us more