Databases

Advanced Search

Browse Databases

Browse Databases A-Z

Compendex

Publication coverage: 1884 - present (updated weekly)

Ei Compendex is the world's most comprehensive engineering literature database.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics

For more than a century, the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics has been a trusted source of reliable scientific data. It contains thousands of physical and chemical data tables which are reviewed and updated on an ongoing basis

CSA Canadian Standards Association

The Canadian Standards Association is a not-for-profit standards development, membership-based association, in business, industry, government and consumers. Queen's Library's subscription to the CSA Standards includes current and previous standards in the following areas: construction and engineering; electrical; energy; environmental; health and safety; mechanical and industrial equipment; quality and business management systems. Examples of available standards include the Canadian Electrical Code and the design of concrete structures.

Espacenet

Publication coverage: 1800s - present (varies by country; updated weekly)

The largest public patent database on the internet, Espacenet contains more than 100 million patent documents from more than 90 countries including Canada and the U.S., plus 2 million records for non-patent literature cited in EPO search reports.

IMMAGE Online

Publication coverage: 1979 - present (updated frequently)

A reference database for the international minerals industry run by the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining Online.

Knovel

Publication coverage: Varies by title

Knovel is a searchable database of more than 5,000 engineering and applied science handbooks and other reference works.

National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)

NTRL contains records for 3 million US federal technical reports dating back to 1964 and ~800,000 full-text reports, most from 1995 forward.

NRC Publications Archive

NPArC is a searchable online repository containing thousands of NRC-authored publication citations. Use NPArC to link to publications of interest and to set up alerts.

O'Reilly for Higher Education (OHE)

O’Reilly for Higher Education includes technology and business content from more than 250 publishers, along with videos, case studies, learning paths and self-assessments. The database provides more than 40,000 e-books, including the familiar O'Reilly titles with woodcut animal covers, plus 30,000 hours of video, learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, audio books, and videos from O’Reilly’s global conferences. Topics range from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. The content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and much more. Formerly known as Safari Tech E-books.

Oxford Reference Online - Science

Publication coverage: Varies by publication.

A collection of 50 reference titles published by Oxford University Press. Includes dictionaries and encyclopedias (with over 210,000 entries) in the science and engineering disciplines.

Ask Us

Ask Us

For help locating resources, using the library, or to request a research consultation, try our Ask Us service.

ask us more