For help locating resources, using the library, or to request a research consultation, try our Ask Us service.
Databases
Cambridge Shakespeare is a comprehensive collection of materials related to Shakespeare, published by Cambridge University Press.
Created in partnership with the Electronic Text Centre at the University of New Brunswick Libraries, this collection contains the full text of more than 19,000 poems by 177 poets, offering a comprehensive survey of Canadian poetry from the eighteenth century to the early twentieth.
This award-winning digital library has been created as a response to the need for a high-quality online research tool for drama and literature students, professors, and teachers. It is the only resource to combine exclusively available playtext content and scholarly publications with filmed live performances, film adaptations, and audio plays.
This collection offers the full text of 875 first editions of American novels and short stories by such authors as Louisa May Alcott, Herman Melville, Harriet Beecher Stowe and Mark Twain, as well as a host of minor writers of the period.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Publication coverage: 1473 - 1700
EEBO includes full text facsimiles of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473 to 1700.Early English Books Online Text Creation Partnership (EEBO-TCP)
Publication coverage: 1473 - 1700
The Text Creation Partnership, which provides highly searchable versions of the texts, has made the first 25,000 works freely available. The interface, at the University of Michigan, allows proximity and boolean searching within the available works, but does not search the full Early English Books Online (EEBO) database.
Full text of over 200 works of prose fiction from 1500 1700. Genres include: prose romance, jest books, rogue literature.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Publication coverage: 1701-1800
A digital collection of significant English-language and foreign-language titles printed in during the eighteenth century.Eighteenth Century Collections Online Text Creation Partnership (ECCO-TCP)
Publication coverage: 1701-1800
Contains fully searchable re-keyed, electronic editions of a selection of key texts from the Eighteenth Century Collection Online (ECCO)