For help locating resources, using the library, or to request a research consultation, try our Ask Us service.
Databases
Romanticism : Life Literature and Landscape
Publication coverage: 1768-1903
Provides access to the working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers of the Romantic period..
Filmed live performances of Shakespeare productions staged and acted by the Royal Shakespeare Company. Includes transcripts, teacher resources and contextual information.
Publication coverage: 1670s to 1970s
Shakespeare in Performance is a collection of over 1,000 digitized rare and unique prompt books from the Folger Shakespeare Library.
Located in Stratford, Ontario, Canada, the Stratford Festival is the largest classical repertory theatre company in North America. Study guides with synopsis and activities for students are available for the filmed performances of 14 plays.
This database of modern and contemporary African American poetry includes collected poems and individual volumes from all the major movements and schools of the twentieth century.
A database of modern and contemporary American poetry from the twentieth century. Contains over 50,000 poems by more than 300 authors.
Twentieth Century North American Drama
Publication coverage: Late 1800s - present
Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, out of print, or previously unpublished. The plays are accompanied by reference materials, significant ancillary information, a rich performance database, and images.Publication coverage: 1890 - present
This collection aims to contain more than 2,500 published plays by authors from North America, Britain and Ireland, India, Africa, Australia and the Caribbean.
Contains poetry of nearly 300 poets, including poetry in English by poets from outside the British Isles, from 1900-2000.
Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900
A subject comprehensive bibliography of 50,000 periodicals published in England, Ireland and Scotland between 1800 and 1900.