For help locating resources, using the library, or to request a research consultation, try our Ask Us service.
Databases
Archive of the British pictorial weekly, with full text and illustrations.
India, Raj and Empire provides documents pertaining to the history of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America
Publication coverage: 17th to mid 20th Century
Manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from early European colonization up to photographs and Indigenous newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
This collection includes early Kingston newspapers (The British Whig, The Kingston Chronicle, and The Kingston Gazette), two abolitionist newspapers from Southern Ontario (The Provincial Freeman and The Voice of The Fugitive), and unique titles for topics such as Great Lakes shipping (The Marine Record) and visual sources for 19th century Canadian history (The Canadian Illustrated News). INK is a project of Our Digital World (ODW) that brings together over 200 years of newspaper titles. 50 community newspapers are presented, representing over 96,000 complete issues, and over 1 million full pages of English and French content.
International Medieval Bibliography
Publication coverage: 1967-
The International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) is the leading interdisciplinary bibliography concerning the European Middle Ages (c. 450-1500).Publication coverage: Renaissance
Lists previously uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world. Originally published in print in six volumes by Paul Oskar Kristeller between 1963 and 1992.
Iter is a bibliographic database of interdisciplinary literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance in Europe from 400-1700.
Jewish Life in America, c.1654-1954
Publication coverage: 1654-1954
Jewish Life in America is a collection of digitized primary sources from the American Jewish Historical Society in New York.
This American database brings together legislative histories on major legislation, briefs from Supreme Court cases, accounts of labor riots from the not-so-distant past, reports on working conditions of today, and more. Every title has been assigned one (or more) 18 new title-level subjects. Unique to this database is a chart of landmark court cases related to labor and employment law.
Leisure, Travel & Mass Culture: The History of Tourism
Publication coverage: 1850-1980
Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture is a collection of digitized primary sources documenting the development of mass tourism from the mid-19th through the 20th century.