For help locating resources, using the library, or to request a research consultation, try our Ask Us service.
Databases
Presents manuscripts of some of the most important works of European travel writing from the later medieval period.
Publication coverage: 1858-1925
The papers of Edward Sylvester Morse, an American natural scientist, art historian, and early Western resident of Japan. Includes correspondence, journals, sketches, publications, and secondary source materials collected by Morse. Documents life in Japan before it was transformed by Western modernization.Publication coverage: 1621-1924
Migration to New Worlds is a collection of digitized primary sources documenting migration from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe, and Asia to North America and AustralasiaNational Anti-Slavery Standard
Publication coverage: 1840-1870
Official newspaper of the American Anti-Slavery Society.Publication coverage: 1914 - present
A digital collection of significant English-language and foreign-language titles printed in during the nineteenth century.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories
Publication coverage: 1800 - 1950
Letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives by over 1900 immigrants to the United States and Canada between 1800 and 1950.North American Indian Thought and Culture
Publication coverage: 17th century - present
Integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indigenous publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the personal experiences of 1,325 women who lived in North America from colonial times to 1950.
Searchable full-text archives of major American opinion magazines known for commentaries and reviews on politics, culture, and the arts. Indexing reaches back to the first issues of the indexed publications.