Databases

Advanced Search

Browse Databases

Browse Databases A-Z

17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers

Gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney and now a well-known collection at the British Library, the original Burney volumes are in fragile condition and are restricted from reading-room use except as microfilm.

1871 Census of Canada - ONTARIO

Index to actual census records (heads & strays only), as compiled by the Ontario Genealogical Society and made searchable via the web by Queen's University Library.

Accessible Archives

Full text historical collections including period newspapers and magazines from the 18th century to the early 20th century in the United States.

African Women Bibliographic Database

Publication coverage: 1986 to present

Index to English-language publications about African women.

America: History and Life

Publication coverage: 1954 - present

History of the United States and Canada from pre-historic times to the present

Année philologique

Publication coverage: 1924 - present

Comprehensive index to scholarly research in classical studies. Content coverage: Second millennium B.C. - 800 A.D.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index

Publication coverage: 1975 - present

A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.

Bibliography of British and Irish History

Publication coverage: 1900- ; subject coverage from 55 B.C. onwards

The Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH) provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, the British Empire, and the Commonwealth from the Roman period to the present day.

Ask Us

For help locating resources, using the library, or to request a research consultation, try our Ask Us service.

ask us more