For help locating resources, using the library, or to request a research consultation, try our Ask Us service.
Databases
Publication coverage: 1737-1824
Eighteenth Century Drama is a collection of digitized play manuscripts and includes nearly every play submitted for license in the United Kingdom from 1737-1824.
A collection of 96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700–1780 by writers from the British Isles.
English Drama contains more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose from the late thirteenth century to the early twentieth. The works were acted on or intended for the stage, and includes masques, interludes, short dramatic pieces, translations, and adaptations.
Contains over 160,000 poems, essentially comprising the complete canon of English poetry of the British Isles from the 8th century to around 1900. Drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources, more than 1,250 poets are represented. In addition to the six-volume series of the Anglo-Saxon Poetic Records, several landmark anthologies are available in their entirety, including England's Helicon, Richard Tottel's "Miscellany", and Robert Dodsley's A Collection of Poems in Six Volumes.
Essentially comprises the complete canon of English poetry of the British Isles and the British Empire from the 8th century to the early 20th, drawing from nearly 4,900 printed sources and representing more than 2,700 poets. Contains all of the content of the first edition, plus the addition of more than 20,000 poems. The newly-added works illuminate both the literary heritages of Commonwealth and ex-colonial countries and the poetic legacies of English writers only recently brought back to scholarly attention.
Publication coverage: 1473-1800
Catalogue of early printed books.
A collection of some of the most influential poets of the twentieth century. The Faber list spans the seventy-year history of this major publishing house, and includes the poetry of Thom Gunn, Siegfried Sassoon, T.S. Eliot, Ted Hughes, Sylvia Plath, Wendy Cope and Seamus Heaney. In total The Faber Poetry Library contains 140 volumes by 50 poets.
Cross-search multiple Gale collections for monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, maps, and other primary sources.
Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) History
The Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History provides a global view of the history of LGBTQ, covering significant figures and events worldwide.
The Globe on Screen is a collection of streaming videos of critically acclaimed theatre productions from Shakespeare's Globe in London, England.