For help locating resources, using the library, or to request a research consultation, try our Ask Us service.
Databases
A collection of local history texts and images about Kingston and area (Ontario).
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures and the Environment
Publication coverage: 1534-1850
Documents early encounters in North America from 1534 to 1850.Publication coverage: Varies by publication.
More than 28,000 sources from 157 countries in 23 languages, including over 600 continuously updated newswires. Contains same-day and archival coverage of key newspapers, including The Globe and Mail, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post. Default search is Headline plus Lead Paragraph. Expand 'More Options' to change to Full Article or limit to Headline only.Globe and Mail - Canada's Heritage from 1844
Publication coverage: 1844 - approx. 4 years ago
Héritage draws from the rich corpus of archival microfilm held by Library and Archives Canada, with a focus on fonds from the individuals and organizations that have shaped Canada's history. Politics, arts and literature, labour, military, Indigenous history, social justice and women's history are particular areas of strength.
Historical Statistics of Canada
Publication coverage: 1867 - 1970's
Contains statistical tables on the social, economic and institutional conditions of Canada from the start of the Confederation in 1867 to the mid-1970s.Publication coverage: 1867 - 2000
The Libris Canadiana database provides word, title, author and subject access to material published in a number of Canadian periodicals of historical significance.Publication coverage: 1905-2015
Provides cover-to-cover online access to the Canadian news and general interest magazine from its first issue in 1905 through 2015.
The MLA Directory of Periodicals provides detailed information on over 6,000 journals and book series that cover literature, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, language, linguistics, pedagogy, rhetoric and composition, and the history of printing and publishing. Articles published in works listed in the directory are indexed in the MLA International Bibliography.
MLA International Bibliography
Publication coverage: 1925 - present
Comprehensive index to scholarly writing on literature, language, linguistics, literary criticism, folklore, drama, literary genres, etc.- ‹ previous
- 1
- 2
- 3
- next ›
Ask Us
Ask Us
TRIAL DATABASES
- Fish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide
- 30-day trial of Fish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide
- Contact: Maggie Gordon (maggie.gordon@queensu.ca)
Use this form to provide feedback
- Scopus AI
- Trial of Scopus AI for July 22nd till August 21st.
- Contact: Alicia Cappello (alicia.cappello@queensu.ca)