Databases

Advanced Search

Browse Databases

Browse Databases A-Z

Bibliography of British and Irish History

Publication coverage: 1900- ; subject coverage from 55 B.C. onwards

The Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH) provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, the British Empire, and the Commonwealth from the Roman period to the present day.

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of Indigenous Peoples in North American culture, history, and life.

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)

Publication coverage: 1973 to 2007

Comprehensive index to European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Abstracts books, articles, conference proceedings, essays, dissertations, exhibition and dealers’ catalogues. Covers painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, architecture, crafts, decorative, applied, graphic, folk and popular arts. Citations with abstracts

BioCyc

The BioCyc database collection is an encyclopedic set of more than 20,005 Pathway/Genome Databases (PGDBs) describing many sequenced genomes. The comprehensive website contains curated data from 130,000 publications and enables researchers around the world share fundamental information about biochemical pathways and genomes. PGDBs describe the entire genome of an organism, as well as its biochemical pathways and (when curated) its regulatory network. BioCyc curators summarize and synthesize information from thousands of publications, facilitating the literature search process and data integration for large-scale computational analyses. BioCyc supports activities in drug discovery, agriculture, and biotechnology by enhancing the understanding of biological systems. New expanded versions are released three times per year.

Biodiversity Heritage Library

The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.” The BHL consortium works with the international taxonomic community, rights holders, and other interested parties to ensure that this biodiversity heritage is made available to a global audience through open access principles. In partnership with the Internet Archive and through local digitization efforts, the BHL has digitized millions of pages of taxonomic literature, representing over 120,000 titles and over 200,000 volumes.

BioOne

Publication coverage: Varies by publication

BioOne is a nonprofit publisher that aims to make scientific research more accessible through a growing portfolio of products including its full-text aggregation, BioOne Complete, and open access journal, Elementa: Science of the Anthropocene

bioRxiv

bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals. bioRxiv accepts preprints of articles covering all aspects of research in the life sciences. When posting an article, the author assigns it to one of the following categories: Animal Behavior and Cognition, Biochemistry, Bioengineering, Biophysics, Cancer Biology, Cell Biology, Clinical Trials, Developmental Biology, Ecology, Epidemiology, Evolutionary Biology, Genetics, Genomics, Immunology, Microbiology, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Paleontology, Pathology, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Physiology, Plant Biology, Scientific Communication and Education, Synthetic Biology, Systems Biology, Zoology.

BIOSIS Previews

Publication coverage: 1926 - present

Life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.

Birds of the World

Provides detailed scientific information, with images and sound, 10,721 species of birds worldwide. Also contains image and video galleries showing behaviors, habitat, nests, eggs and nestlings as well as recordings of bird songs and calls selected from the extensive collection in Cornell's Macaulay Library of Natural Sounds.

Black Drama - Third Edition

Publication coverage: mid-1800s - present

Black Drama, Third Edition contains the full text of more than 1.700 plays from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. The collection includes musical comedies, domestic dramas, folk dramas, history plays, anti-slavery plays, one-act plays, and other works.

Ask Us

Ask Us

For help locating resources, using the library, or to request a research consultation, try our Ask Us service.

ask us more